Melbourne: A Day, A Week, A Month

Sydney may be the glamorous sister who gets more attention, but Melbourne is the cool chick you want to hang out with. Melbourne is at once old-worldly and new age, flirty and fashionable yet solid and comforting. There are so many things to do, to see in Melbourne, whether you are just passing by for a day, enjoying a well-earned week off work, or have been posted there on an assignment for a few months.

A Day

Melbourne Cafe
via guardian.co.uk/travel

A day is truly too short to enjoy everything that Melbourne has to offer. But if I were to sketch a loose itinerary, I would start with coffee and doughnuts at one of the many cafes in the Central Business District. After a stop at the St Patrick’s Cathedral to admire its Gothic architecture, I’d spend the rest of the morning browsing through some of the thousand or so stalls at St Victoria’s Market. Then I would head over to Carlton for a quick Italian lunch and spend a fruitful afternoon at the Melbourne Museum or the zoo. The evening is to laze on St Kilda beach and enjoy a glass of wine at a hatted restaurant nearby.

A Week

Eureka Towers
via pjm.net.au

I’ve got a week to relax. Awesome! Being a foodie,a must visit would be the Prahran market, a premier fresh food market where homemade chocolates, exotic cheeses would call out my name. And of course, (window)shop, shop, (window)shop till I drop, at both flea markets and chic boutiques, in St Kilda, South Melbourne and Fitzroy. I’d love to imagine the sound of roaring crowds while standing in the middle of the Melbourne Cricket Ground, go on a heritage walk to discover the aboriginal culture and dine in the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant as it traverses the streets of Melbourne. And of course, no trip would be complete without a trip up the 88 stories of Eureka Towers to watch dusk settle over the city.

A Month or more

Great Ocean Road
via wikipedia.org

Melbourne would only be a starting point for my Australia darshan. Trekking in the Dandenong Ranges, going skiing on Mount Buller, snorkeling in the deep blue sea. In Melbourne, I would not forget to pay a visit to the street art markets, to come away with an artwork or a memento for my home. Moonlight movies at the art-deco styled Astor theatre would be on the cards, as would catching a performance at the Victorian Arts Centre. Long drives along the Great Ocean Road would occupy my weekends.
I wish someone would say to me, it’s your time to visit Melbourne NOW! My bags are packed, I’m ready to go.

Note: This post was written for the Indiblogger Melbourne contest.

4 thoughts on “Melbourne: A Day, A Week, A Month

Add yours

Feedback is manna for this blog. Tell us what you think.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑