Anniversary Dinner for Parents

My parents’ anniversary is coming up shortly, and I’ve decided that instead of expensive presents or dinner at a five-star hotel, I’m going to cook a four-course meal for them, from scratch. Now, I’m an occasional cook, so it is going to be difficult for me to make everything on my own from scratch, so I’m going to cheat a little and take the help of a few ready-to-eat packages.

I’m going to start off with a nice shorba, maybe a palak or a tamatar-dhania shorba, then move on to a mughlai paneer  with some roti. For the main course, I’d mix cuisines- make some jeera rice and pair it with a chicken darbari, simple stuff that would give me time to concentrate on my narkel chingri (prawns with coconut), which my parents love a lot. And I’m going to finish off with jodhpuri moong dal halwa, because my mom is a huge halwa fan. On the side will be a mango jeera chutney and a pineapple and green pepper preserve.

Ready-to-eat mixes are a boon for people like me, who don’t have time to prepare elaborate meals but love dishing out a gourmet experience. My parents are going to have a good time, I hope!

This post was written for the Indiblogger A Feast for the Senses contest in association with Kitchens of India.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Feedback is manna for this blog. Tell us what you think.

