Lunch for One: Namma Kudla

Chicken Ghee Roast

A.A. Gill is England’s highest paid and most feared critic. He’s got an acidic pen and is not afraid to skewer any chef he finds not up to the mark; Mr Hell’s Kitchen Gordon Ramsay got a taste of how it is to be on the other side of some invective, when Gill wrote a stinging review of his restaurant. I was wishing Gill was with me during my lunch at Namma Kudla, because he could have said the things I’m too polite to say.

Namma Kudla, in JP Nagar’s food street near RV Dental College, is a budget place, small and sparse. I ordered what I always order when I come to a Mangalorean restaurant- Neer Dosa (Rs 30) and Chicken Ghee Roast (Rs 95), along with a buttermilk (Rs 25). The buttermilk tasted like water-diluted curd, no masala, nothing. A white harbinger of what was to come.

Neer Dosa

The neer dosa was oily. Oily! Seriously, the oil shining on the dosas rivaled Saudi Arabia’s oil reserves. And raw, half-cooked. Till date, I have never seen a place f*** up neer dosa, but I guess there is a first time for everything. The ghee roast would have made a hard core meat-eater contemplate vegetarianism, the masala redder than a bride’s wedding sari, and more disgusting than ditchwater. I was taught as a kid not to insult food, but when the food insults me, I have no choice but to respond.

A complete waste of your money, an insult to Mangalorean food.

Overall: 1
Food: 0.5
Ambience: 2
Service: 2.5

Namma Kudla
18, 5A Cross
Marenahalli
Near RV Dental College
2nd Phase, JP Nagar
Bangalore

Feedback is manna for this blog. Tell us what you think.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

