Lunch for One: Lebmex

Lebmex

I came here prepared to dislike the food. I mean, come on, vegetarian Lebanese? Where are the juicy meaty shawarmas, the succulent kababs? And a restaurant that believes that Lebanese and Mexican go together? I had my doubts, serious doubts.

The Lebmex in Forum Value Mall is not conducive to eating- there is no wall or partition separating the restaurant, so you’re open to looks from everybody, especially those entering or exiting the lifts. I never knew that a single girl reading Jhumpa Lahiri was so interesting to grandmothers; they looked at me, then around me, as if expecting a boyfriend to materialize from somewhere. You order at the counter, and sit in a place that looks like a new-age playschool. Yeah, now you see why the Jhumpa Lahiri was needed- me in my Pacman T-shirt needed something adultifying.

Hummus with Falafel Bullets

The Hummus with Falafel Bullets (Rs 150) came with two pita breads, and a side of pickled radishes and jalapenos, and looking like the artwork I did in Class 1. My first taste of hummus- rich, creamy, the tang of lemon juice standing out but not overpowering the dish.The pita bread was awesome, soft and light and fluffy and soaking in the hummus. The tomato sauce and oil on top of the hummus was not really needed, but took nothing away from the dish, if you mixed it all properly. The falafel was just veg pakoda by another name, not too impressive. Little overpriced, if you ask me.

I didn’t try the Mexican side of things, but there were the usual suspects- tacos, nachos, burritos, quesedillas, your regular Taco Bell stuff. They should have had baba ghanoush in the Lebanese menu- I wanted to try that. Overall, quite decent food, even without the non-veg. But yes, they really need to do something about the wall, or rather, the lack of one.

Overall: 3
Food: 3
Ambience: 1
Service: 2.5

Lebmex
Forum Value Mall
Whitefield
Bangalore

This entry was posted in Lunch, Lunch for One and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feedback is manna for this blog. Tell us what you think.

