Happy Ugadi!

Today is Ugadi, new year for the people of Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh. I’m off to the temple, for bevu bella prasada, and hopefully some shavige payasam (vermicelli rice pudding to you Anglicized people).

Ugadi sweet box

Leaving you with a staple of my childhood days, a box of sweets from Kanti Sweets. When my parents and I paid visits to anybody’s home during festival time, a box from Kanti Sweets would often accompany us. My mom liked their sweets over Ananda Bhavan’s, and though I’m not as enamoured by them as I used to be before, I still drop in for their barfis or paks.This time, I went for Kashmir Kalakand Barfi, Mysore Pak, Jehangiri (Amriti to Bengalis), Moti Pak and another stuffed sweet whose name I’ve forgotten. Bring on the calories!

Ugadi sweets

Ugadi sweets

Happy Ugadi!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feedback is manna for this blog. Tell us what you think.

