Lunch for One: Chettiars

Chettiars

Irwin van Grove said that hunger is one of the few cravings that cannot be appeased with another solution. And on New Year’s Eve (yes, I’m really behind on my posts!), I hungered for fish. Kubay’s or Coast II Coast could have satisfied my cravings, but I didn’t really want to make the bus journey from Indiranagar to either place. I scoured my memory (and the Internet)- where could I find cheap yet good fish curry? The Internet threw up Chettiars as the answer.

Parotta and Chettinad Fish Masala

The day’s specials- crab, turkey roast and lobster- tempted me, but I resolutely stuck to fish, ordering a Chettinad fish masala (Rs 135) and parotta (Rs 30). The fish masala is sufficient for two, though I didn’t have much trouble finishing it off on my own. The curry was super super spicy, and I nearly had tears in my eyes, even though my hotness tolerance level is higher than many people. But the fish itself? You know the reason many people give for not eating fish- they think it’ll taste too “fishy”? That happens when either the fish is not fresh, or not cooked properly. Something of that sort happened here; I didn’t like how the fish tasted, and it was rubbery. I was told that it was anjal, but it didn’t taste like anjal (not implying any misleading by the staff, but I’ve eaten anjal and it has a different flavor). Maybe they should have cut back on the chillies; I know Chettinad cuisine is one of the spiciest in India, but the heat sort of overpowered everything else.

Chettiars is a place I really want to like. It has simple decor, stone seats and food eaten on banana leaves. Though there aren’t many options for veggies, their veg thali is really popular- I saw quite a few people turn up for that alone. Despite my first experience being a not-so-good one, I want to come back. Maybe I’ll try the chicken dishes next time; a couple sitting next to me ordered some, and were oohing and aahing over them.

Overall: 2
Food: 2
Ambience: 3
Service: 2.5

Chettiars
620, Groud Floor
2nd Main, 1st Phase
Indiranagar
Bangalore

This entry was posted in Lunch, Lunch for One and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lunch for One: Chettiars

  1. Aadarshini says:

    It is a good hotel;It is a good ambeyens and good food; I love that hotel;

Feedback is manna for this blog. Tell us what you think.

