Lunch for One: Creme & Crust

Some days, everything goes wrong- somebody you were relying on for help lets you down, you make plans with your friend but she ditches you at the last moment. But then, as if to compensate for all that in some small way, you have a good lunch that dispels some of the gloom. Such was my visit to Creme & Crust.

Creme & Crust

I came into this tiny place on 100 Ft Road thinking it was Woodstok Cafe; turns out it’s a subsidiary. The place is small yet cozy, and they don’t seem to have too many people at any one time, making it a fine spot for a brunch date, not unlike Claytopia. They have an all-day breakfast for Rs 335 (Rs 295 for veg, I think), but I wasn’t in a mood for a heavy breakfast at 2.30 in the afternoon. I settled for a Mexican omelet (vegetarian. Ha! I always laugh at the concept of egg being vegetarian), which was described as consisting of three eggs, served with tortillas, salsa and a side of toast. I wondered if it would be enough, or I would have to try one of their ridiculously expensive desserts (blueberry cheesecake for Rs 245, kahlua mousse for Rs 180).

Mexican omelette

If I’d told mom I was having an omelet for lunch, she’d probably have berated me for starving myself. She needn’t have worried. The omelet was a monster (that’s just half of it up there), stuffed with cheese, tomatoes, broccoli and olives, and topped with salsa and tortillas. I didn’t really care for the tortillas, but I enjoyed the omelet- the tart olives were a nice contrast to the sweetness of the tomatoes. The omelet was served with baked potatoes and a white dip, neither of which I cared for. The baked potatoes were tasteless and needed a good sprinkling of salt and pepper, the dip was unappetizing. But hey, I ordered the omelet, and it was good, and that’s good enough for me.

Creme & Crust is on the ground floor of the building housing the Hush Puppies showroom, and I plan to make a return visit for the all-day breakfast.

Overall: 3.5
Food: 3.5
Ambience: 3.5
Service: 4

No. 57, 100 Ft Road
Next to Unilet showroom
Indiranagar
Bangalore

This entry was posted in Lunch, Lunch for One and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feedback is manna for this blog. Tell us what you think.

